HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: Gentleman Within

THOROGOOD MOC TOE BOOTS REVIEW | 4 Year Update | Stylish 6 Inch Tobacco Heritage Boot

190 ratings | 13576 views
Thorogood boots are iconic for their rugged, workwear inspired aesthetic and all-around functionality. With over 125 styles of American Heritage footwear and over 125 years in business, the Thorogood Shoe Company has done and seen it all. This in-depth Thorogood Boots review features the Hike 'n Camp, 6" moc-toe boot. I'm going to cover the boot's style & design, quality & craftsmanship, comfort & durability, shoe sizing & price, the pros & cons and most importantly how they've held up over 4 seasons of wear. Finally I'll wrap things up by answering some commonly asked questions. ➢Thorogood 6” Moc Toe - https://amzn.to/2CyVYZR ➢Kiwi Shoe Polish - https://amzn.to/2BLOQYJ THOROGOOD BOOTS REVIEW The Thorogood 6" moc toe is a construction boot that's stylish enough for everyday wear. Before we talk style and design, let's answer, what is a moc toe? What Is A Moc Toe Boot? A "moc toe" can come in a shoe or boot design. What distinguishes one is the seam running across the top of the shoe, around the toe box. The "moc" in moc toe is an abbreviation for moccasin which if you've noticed has that unmistakable detail along the top of the shoes. The Thorogood moc toes are rugged style work boots similar to Wolverine or Red Wing. They feature 3 standard eyelets followed by 3 speed hooks and finished off with a single grommet. The speed hooks aid in easy lacing and makes heel lock lacing a breeze. This is my personal favorite way to lace up my boots or shoes while hiking because it "locks" the heel in place, preventing heel slippage. Additionally, the boots have a flat sole as opposed to a separated heel which makes it easy to maneuver around a construction site and comfortable for working on concrete all day. They are 6 inches in height, and run about halfway up my calf. There's prominent white contrast stitching across the boot's upper and the Thorogood logo is prominently stamped across the heel of the left and right boot. I personally like the way the logo appears brandished on the leather. For more on Thorogood Boots & the brand’s history, read the in-depth review on the blog: https://www.gentlemanwithin.com/thorogood-boots-review/ - - - - - - - - - - - - OTHER SHOE & BOOT RELATED VIDEOS: • Thursday Boots Review: 2 Years Later: http://bit.ly/2IOmmAs • 7 Awesome Fall/Winter Boot Styles For Men: http://bit.ly/2wMIBBq • 11 Men’s Fall Style Essentials & How to Wear Them: http://bit.ly/2M3ke7V • 8 Sneaker Trends for Fall/Winter 2018-2019: http://bit.ly/2NH9lh2 • 6 Shoes Every Guy Needs | 3 Nice To Haves: http://bit.ly/2MKmZMf • 7 Shoe Care Tips for Longer Lasting Shoes: http://bit.ly/2PnouAP • Beckett Simonon Dean Oxford Review: http://bit.ly/2iriUQf • Beckett Simonon Reid Low Top Review: http://bit.ly/2roDrcg • Paul Evans Martin Wholecut Review: http://bit.ly/2LUKOkl • Oxfords, Not Brogues, Maybe Derbies: http://bit.ly/2Jb0KNm • Jay Butler Cromwell Suede Penny Loafer Review: http://bit.ly/2EgkT6L • Koio Capri Arena Unboxing: http://bit.ly/2AjLlaX • Best Summer Shoes for Men: http://bit.ly/2M2LE2I • Best No-Show Socks for Men | Ultimate Guide: http://bit.ly/2BvyF51 - - - - - - - - - - - - ✖Let's Connect W E B S I T E: https://gentlemanwithin.com T W I T T E R: http://twitter.com/thegentwithin F A C E B O O K: http://facebook.com/gentlemanwithin I N S T A G R A M: http://instagram.com/thegentwithin S O U N D C L O U D: http://gentlemanwithin.com/soundcloud P I N T E R E S T: http://pinterest.com/gentlemanwithin G O O G L E +: http://plus.google.com/+Gentlemanwithin S N A P C H A T: khoiii - - - - - - - - - - - - ✖Exclusive Stuff ➢Check out the ‘I Am A Gentleman’ Manifesto → http://bit.ly/2vQewP5 ➢A Crash Course to Better Style → http://bit.ly/2nFUSS1 ➢Join the Gentlemen Within Private Facebook Community → http://bit.ly/2wYuH1n FTC: This video is not sponsored. Cheers to your style! #GWxTV #thorogoodboots #review #thorogoodmoctoe #thorogood #thorogoodusa
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (120)
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
What are your thoughts on the rugged, Made in USA Thorogood Moc Toe? Leave your comments so we can discuss!
SNOOP U 2 (1 month ago)
Can they be dyed? If I had a Orenge light brown to "DARK BROWN"?
jonathan aldana (3 months ago)
Luke Hadley I’m a glazier out here in LA and I got a few of brothers from my local to rock these over Irish setters/red wings , way more comfort on a job site
Luke Hadley (3 months ago)
Thorogood boots are popular with Iron workers in NYC
jonathan aldana (5 months ago)
Gentleman Within oh awesome that’s what it’s about
Gentleman Within (5 months ago)
@jonathan aldana money isnt everything and I already have a career I'm passionate about.
Time Fourty (1 month ago)
Because they are work outdoor boots. Lol.. .. I just like wearing them cause the are cool looking. Oh no they get dirty? Millinials! These aren't even the best boots. They last 4 year's because you don't use them for the type of work they were build for.
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
"I know the audience that follows this type of dressing up B.S." ... that's not a judgmental statement? this is my last comment here. I've wasted enough time...have fun surfing youtube.
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
ok
Time Fourty (1 month ago)
@Gentleman Within I can give link to studies if you wish relating to this? At any rate thought this was going to be more of a construction workers view not a fashion statement. Best regards to those you feel u have a positive effect on.
Time Fourty (1 month ago)
@Gentleman Within - there's a difference between judging a stating opinion. My opinions are based on observed facts. When we're shoes that you have discussed on this clip not to make a fashion statement but to be able to do labor work comfortably and safely. People pre disposed with looks and cloth items usually as there are exceptions to some rules. Tend to be self absorbed more materialistic and often leads to a degree of hypocrisy.
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
@Time Fourty judge all u want. we all judge. you're judged based on what you wear whether you like to believe it or not.
Geronimo Jr (1 month ago)
love these boots
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
glad to hear it!
Cisco's World (1 month ago)
How do you lace them like in the pic
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
wrap both the left and right lace around the back of the boots. There should be enough length to do so. Then finish it off as you would normally tie up your laces.
Melvin Hunt (1 month ago)
I have had mine 6 months and like them a lot. I've had red wing, and these are very good. There also made in America, most red wing's are not.!
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
just looked it up...looks like 25% of their boots are still made in the USA while over 25% made in china and the rest from other countries like Cambodia and Vietnam.
Melvin Hunt (1 month ago)
@Gentleman Within. I went to the boot store. I wanted red wing's because they feel good, last a long time and made in America. They have hundreds of pairs of boots. ALL brands, l looked at RED wing's, to my surprise, made in China. Sometimes made in other places. They told me the America made were expensive. Really, these were 175,225 dollars. So l ask about brand's. I found thorogood. Look em up. They gave me a discount when l ordered THEM.
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
Really, I'm surprised about Red Wing..Obviously Thorogood is made in America...they proudly shout it to the rooftops with that little ribbon..
Trump 2020 Trump (1 month ago)
Enjoyed your review
Gentleman Within (1 month ago)
cool! glad you enjoyed it.
Dfabe53 (2 months ago)
Those are 4 year old boots!?!?! Lol i just bought the same boots for work yesterday and they already look beat to shit today
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
lol, you must be doing some intense work. they are pretty tight. I think sizing up may be a good idea.
Dfabe53 (2 months ago)
Also i wear a size 13 running shoe...I actually had to size up to 14 for these boots, even though the consensus is to basically size a half size down
Allen Pacheco (2 months ago)
I was thinking about making a joke about them being work boots but these cancerous comments really took it out of me lol I'm happy you don't have to use them as actual work boots. To all the salty people in the comments, the world needs ditch diggers. The rest of us can choose to wear these whenever the fuck we want lol
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
exactly.
William Knight (2 months ago)
I just got my pair in I have always wore redwing. WOW I can say maybe they are not as tough on the leather but MUCH more comfortable it looks.
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
Yeah, they're pretty darn comfortable. Not so much for those with wide feet though.
William Knight (2 months ago)
I had a pair show up today, not worn yet. but WOW I am impressed how comfortable the look.
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
How you liking them?
William Knight (2 months ago)
nice boot
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
yup! it's great
1991tommygun (2 months ago)
These are work boots for men, Not fruity asian boots
Martin Velarde (1 month ago)
This is a dumb comment, you bigot
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
"racism still alive they just be concealin' it" - kanye
Tig Clark (3 months ago)
Lol 4 years....guess you can tell you don’t work in them.
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
I don't. I bought them for the style. just so happens they're also fantastic work boots.
rk h (3 months ago)
i use my thorogoods for work and i dont have a problem with guys wearing these as stylish boots. no different than black naggers who wear timberlands or jordans with their saggy pants
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
that is uncalled for man...
Mhelias30 (3 months ago)
I used to wear Danner work boots until I found these. I took a chance and ordered them on line, it ended up being the best boot choice I’ve ever made. I’ve had Ariats, Irish Setters, Danners, and such but these are bottom line the best. 👌🏽 Great video.
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
Thank you! glad to hear of your positive experience with your thorogoods. i agree, great boots.
TheSH1N1GAM1 (3 months ago)
These boots might not be technically waterproof, but I have found they can be submerged up to the laces. I work on a boat and I’ve never had an issue with water intrusion. In addition to made in the USA, they’re made by union workers too!
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
Hey man, this is good information to know! Thanks for sharing your experience with them 👌
Adam Cox (3 months ago)
Workwear esthetic. God people are turning true boots into little princess city shoes
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
versatility's the name of the game
Jason Harper (3 months ago)
I love thorogoods. Hate the laces. They look good but dont stay tied. I use leather laces.
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
gotcha. they are strong laces. i like 'em
Jason Harper (3 months ago)
I dont use the waxed laces. Straight leather. If you are just wearing them they stay tied all day. But if you are working in them they will not stay tied unless you double knot them. Strong laces tho
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
I actually think they stay tied better than waxed leather laces...
Eddie Hansen (4 months ago)
Just bought my first pair yesterday. I’m thinking of going back for a second pair so I have a pair for taking the wife out and a pair for work. I love the flag tag and wear it proudly. Great review.
Eddie Hansen (4 months ago)
Just bought my first pair yesterday. I’m thinking of going back for a second pair so I have a pair for taking the wife out and a pair for work. I love the flag tag and wear it proudly. Great review.
Gentleman Within (3 months ago)
absolutely agree!
Eddie Hansen (3 months ago)
Gentleman Within yeah, I wouldn’t wear with a jacket and tie but a nice pair of jeans and button down shirt I think would be a classy masculine look, especially in a world of vans and nike.
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
that's awesome. never thought of them as a date night kind of footwear, but they can work with regular casual, albeit slightly more rugged apparel. thanks for watching!
Ian walker (4 months ago)
Nice review .
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
welcome. hope i give ya reason to stick around 👌
Ian walker (4 months ago)
@Gentleman Within, Yes , I like your straight forward style and honest opinion.
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
thanks man! new to the channel?
AJs Exchange (4 months ago)
I enjoyed the video great content. I had a pair of 814-4200 and enjoyed every bit of wearing them (even the break in). I used them strictly for work as they were so comfy but rugged and looked great. Great value for the price. One thing I didnt like was the loose grain. Keep up the great content brother! One question: what are you using to film with? Thanks in afvance!
Gentleman Within (2 months ago)
super late with the reply, but keep up the good work!
AJs Exchange (4 months ago)
@Gentleman Within well the quality is plenty good so keep it up! Check out my you tube channel when you have a chance. Definitely not on your level of production but I keep it light and my approach is a little different from most boot vids.
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
hey man, thanks for dropping by. glad you enjoyed the video! for my talking heads i'm still using my phone 😆 and the boot shots were with my friend's canon, not quite sure the model or the lens...
Charles Jackson III (5 months ago)
I order me a pair in black color, I got my for carpentry work.
Gentleman Within (5 months ago)
I love the black colorway for the 6" moc toe too
Joshua Grove (5 months ago)
I have the waterproof steel toe version, love these boots. I wear them for work every day.
Gentleman Within (5 months ago)
@Joshua Grove I'd imagine them lasting longer than a year even if you beat the sh*t out of them
Kevin Yang (5 months ago)
nice review man
Gentleman Within (5 months ago)
thank you, Kevin!
Dane Ferolin (5 months ago)
just ordered these!
Dane Ferolin (5 months ago)
@Gentleman Within yes, same ones. using them for work 5-6 days a week
Gentleman Within (5 months ago)
Nice! in tobacco?
DonJuan ThePiper (6 months ago)
American made, reviewed by a Chinese dude that only wears them when he goes and hangs with his buds playing fortnite.
Sam Erickson (3 months ago)
@Gentleman Within lol
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
how can you no offense after that? lol. Seems normal part of the break in period..as long as you're not in real pain.
DonJuan ThePiper (6 months ago)
Gentleman Within no offense, I'm Mexican and always called Puerto Rican. I just picked up these boots, getting some pressure on the top of my foot causing some discomfort. Kinda where the stiching meets the toe box. Is this normal?
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Bruh, I'm Viet.
Waltski (6 months ago)
Thanks for the video! Legit boot. Comfortable and stylish......work very well with jeans.
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Yessir. That it does!
Future Skills (6 months ago)
Thorogood boots are fantastic, and I own a couple pairs. I recommend them to people with total confidence. I have a decent amount of experience with them, and I see them frequently on job sites and in public(Midwest winter.) I find it very hard to believe you've worn them for 4 years on any kind of regular basis. They just don't look like that anymore after a few dozen wears. Not to say they wear poorly. They look amazing after being broken in. I just don't think you've worn yours much. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
Don't think you were asking me, but I think red wing's version of this boot looks great.
Maria Avalos (4 months ago)
Would you recomend this pair or a pair of irish setters from red wing?
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
I only wear them during late fall through winter and I don't work on job sites. They're just everyday casual boots for me and so they don't get beat up, hence why they look so clean. But I've had 'em the past 4 winter seasons and worn em several dozen times at least. And I agree, great boots.
njuafed71 (6 months ago)
Hahaha i have the exact same design from tommy Hilfiger but i never knew it was called a moc toe boots because of those stitches at the upper front.
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Yessir, interesting how many styles and boot designs are out there. moc toes are polarizing, but I personally love 'em.
spydermike18 (6 months ago)
Beautifull workboot and so smooth to wear it,i actually have a pair of those 🙂😉😮.
spydermike18 (6 months ago)
@Gentleman Within tobacco oil tanned.
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
That's great to hear man. These boots are so durable and their ruggedness is unrivaled. Which colorway do you have?
K-love F-love (6 months ago)
Happy New Year 🥳. Great review/video. I love those boots 🥾! I love the look especially the fashion versatility of the boots. I don’t own one for now but definitely worth the investment. Thanks Khoi
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Thanks bro! Happy New Year. Glad you like the video. They're stylish and long lasting, what I look for in my boots!
J Haines (6 months ago)
Koi, thanks for reviewing something 4 years later. I think your experience with them through four years of fall and winter wearing brings a lot more to a review than if someone just did a one off. Are you a fan of moc toe in general? or just the thorogood?
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
hey man, thanks for the comment. I have another pair of moc toes from a brand called pikolinos based out of spain. Quality stuff and probably the most comfortable pair of boots that I own. To answer your question, i'm a fan of moc toes.
Chase Dean (6 months ago)
Man. Another solid video. It looks like you put a lot of work into these. Keep it up.
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Thanks Chase. I'ma keep on keepin' on.
Klint Morre (6 months ago)
my issue on this boot style is its too thick on the top that you need to cuff your jeans and its not so ideal for short guys makes legs shorter 🤦‍♂️
Evan Barker (4 months ago)
Gentleman Within timbs but i might buy some thorogoods now!
Gentleman Within (4 months ago)
@Evan Barker timbs or thorogood?
Evan Barker (4 months ago)
Klint Morre yeah but the added inch makes up for it if you want to cuff, i do cuffs with my timberlands lol
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
definitely leans rugged, but can work with refined/rakish getups too.
Klint Morre (6 months ago)
well i guess this is time for me to check these boots out hahahaha
The Style O.G. (6 months ago)
I’ve had these on my radar for awhile. Appreciate the thorough review !
SNOOP U 2 (1 month ago)
@Gentleman Within can they be dyed? I got the very light brown and I got them on a one day sale so I couldn't pass up the deal and they are my size 5 1/2 never ever find good looking boots in my size just the color. I thought maybe I could dye them DARK BROWN. I don't want to buy dark brown dye and ruin them by dying them.
Gentleman Within (6 months ago)
Thanks for watching Jeff! These are definitely workhorses, 'n stylish to boot

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.